top of page
Search
  • by Matthew Bayan

THE QUERY CHECKLIST


So you’ve done your research, created a list (or a spreadsheet if you’re a paragon of efficiency and organization) of agents you want to query, and think you have everything you need. Your query letter looks great; your pitch is enticing and you’re confident. Use this checklist before you hit send.

__ My manuscript is complete (and edited, and proofread).

__ I’ve done my best to come up with a great opening line.

__ I’ve described the plot in a clear and concise way.

__ I’ve included the genre and word count of my manuscript (or projected word count for

a nonfiction title with a proposal) in my query.

__ This agent represents that genre.

__ I want to work with this agent because something in her bio or credentials (or blog post or interview) resonates with me.

__ If I’ve met the agent at a conference, I’ve included the conference name in the email subject line (and somewhere in the query itself).

__ I have checked this agent’s submission guidelines.

__ I have included all the materials that this agent requires.

__ The materials are included in the desired format, i.e. in the body, not attached (if that’s what the submission guidelines call for.)

__ I greet the agent by name, not as a generic Dear Agent.

__ I’ve checked that the agent I’m addressing is the same one I’m emailing.

__ I’ve spelled the agent’s name correctly.

__ If unsure of the agent’s gender, I’ve used the agent’s full name or first name.

__ I’ve spelled the agency’s name right and named the correct one (if I’m mentioning it).

__ I’ve included my contact information.

__ My subject line includes the working title of the book.

__ My query can be read without a magnifying glass.

__ My formatting is consistent throughout the query.

__My email address shows my name—not my spouse’s, or mine and my spouse’s, or a random string of letters and numbers, or a quirky nickname, or my main character’s name.

Visit www.matthewbayan.com


8 views0 comments
bottom of page